Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


SNAP Benefits Might Expire by April 15: These States May Be Affected


As the COVID-19 pandemic began to spread inside the borders of the US, the country braced itself for the negative economic impact of the virus. Indeed, many citizens and residents lost their lives and jobs. Prices have risen very quickly. Recently, the inflation rate in America has been recorded at its highest level for 40 years. The federal government in the US employed various measures to aid struggling citizens. Besides the introduction of, basically, three rounds of stimulus checks – the Supplemental Nutritional Assistance Program is another program that has been employed in certain states in the US.


More Information On SNAP

The program was brought into being by the US Department of Agriculture, according to an article from Go Banking Rates. According to this article, the Department wavered funds for selected territories to supply eligible citizens with such supplemented nutritional aid. Furthermore, the criteria for such supplemental nutritional aid is that such states or territories must have declared a state of emergency or disaster.

SNAPS Current Expiry Date

This article makes it clear that firstly – the majority of US states have done so – giving eligible citizens access to SNAP benefit payments. Secondly,  on 16 January 2022 Xavier Becerra, the Secretary of Health and Human Services extended the expiry date of the emergency declaration to 15 April 2022.

States Affected By The Expiry

What this means, is that, if President Joe Biden, and his administration, do not extend public health emergency (PHE) declaration beyond this date – many citizens stand the chance of losing such supplemented assistance and nutritional aid. What the results, thereof maybe, only remains to be seen. At present, though, the following states will be affected by the expiry of the program from 15 April 2022:

  • Alabama.
  • Alaska.
  • Arizona.
  • California.
  • Colorado.
  • Connecticut.
  • Delaware.
  • District of Columbia.
  • Georgia.
  • Guam.
  • Hawaii.
  • Illinois.
  • Indiana.
  • Iowa.
  • Kansas.
  • Kentucky.
  • Louisiana.
  • Maine.
  • Maryland.
  • Massachusetts.
  • Michigan.
  • Minnesota.
  • New Jersey.
  • New Hampshire.
  • New Mexico.
  • New York.
  • North Carolina.
  • Ohio.
  • Oklahoma.
  • Oregon.
  • Pennsylvania.
  • Rhode Island.
  • South Carolina.
  • Texas.
  • Virginia.
  • Washington.
  • West Virginia.
  • Wisconsin.
  • Wyoming.

SNAP payments are made monthly into specified EBT cards. These cards may be used to purchase specified groceries at specified vendors and stores. Certain states may vary in regards to what types of nutritional products may be bought, but what remains common is that the funds can only be used on nutritional products.