Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

California News

Due to winter storms, Newsom issues an emergency declaration for 13 counties in California

According to the state’s ongoing winter storms, Governor Gavin Newsom declared an emergency and alerted the California National Guard in 13 counties.

To “help emergency reaction and relief” in the counties of Amador, Kern, Los Angeles, Madera, Mariposa, Mono, Nevada, San Bernardino, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Sierra, Sonoma, and Tulare, the Democratic governor issued the declaration.

San Bernardino County, for example, has been extremely badly affected, which has complicated the delivery of food and water to houses stuck by the ice and snow and caused power outages in certain regions.

According to Newsom’s office, state employees are supporting the area’s most vulnerable residents, especially those from the Governor’s Office of Emergency Services, the California Department of Transportation, and the California Highway Patrol.

In addition, the state has contracts with private businesses to speed up the clearing of snow from roads and is working with investor-owned utilities to speed up the restoration of electricity, according to Newsom’s office.

The National Weather Service said that snow showers were still occurring late on Wednesday in the hills of San Bernardino County. Traveling will be extremely challenging to impossible.

Copyright © 2022 Pro Claimers. Theme by MVP Themes, powered by The Santa Clarita Valley.